Tuesday, September 20, 2011

St. Croix SGA Students to Attend National Student Government Summit

SGA executive members take the oath of office at the installation ceremony on Sept. 15, on UVI’s Albert A. Sheen Campus on St. Croix. From left are President Siejah Mike, Vice President Estica Caesar, Treasurer Kevin Dixon, Secretary Solgisselle Torres, Assistant Secretary Anisha Thomas and Public Relations Officer JoAnn Thomas-Lewis. - SGA Photo by Douglas Simpson

Members of the Student Government Association (SGA) on UVI's Albert A. Sheen Campus will receive training at the National Student Government Summit hosted by the American Student Government Association scheduled for Sept. 29 through Oct. 2, in Washington D.C.

The Summit is an annual, four-day conference, featuring nearly 50 workshop sessions, 40 brainstorming roundtables, two acclaimed keynote speakers and more than 24 intense, information-packed hours of practical help, research and advice on how to improve student government. The 2011 conference will be the largest student government conference in America. More than 700 student government leaders and advisors from all types and sizes of colleges and universities nationwide are expected to attend. In 2010, 628 student leaders and advisors from 110 institutions in 38 states participated.

Attending on the behalf of the St. Croix SGA will be President Siejah Mike, Vice President Estica Caesar, Treasurer Kevin Dixon, Secretary Solgisselle Torres and Advisor Hedda Finch-Simpson.

Monday, September 19, 2011

Debra Thompson is VI SBDC State Star

The University of the Virgin Islands congratulates Debra Thompson - the 2011 State Star of the VI Small Business Development Center (SBDC). Thompson was chosen by the VI SBDC for being an outstanding performer, making a major contribution to the VI SBDC program, and showing a strong commitment to the growth of the network. She was recently honored at a special awards reception honoring the America Small Business Development Center’s 2011 State Stars on Friday, September 6, 2011, in San Diego, California. Pictured left to right: ASBDC President Charles "Tee" Rowe; Constant Contact Director of Regional Development Annie Powell; VI SBDC State Star Debra Thompson; VI SBDC State Director Leonor D. Dottin; and Associate Deputy Administrator of the SBA Michael Chodos. For more information on starting or maintaining a small business in the Virgin Islands, visit the VI SBDC website at: http://www.sbdcvi.org/